Shire of Yilgarn

The Shire of Yilgarn is 30,720 square km in area and has a population of approximately 1,600. Yilgarn is known by many as the Gateway to the Wheatbelt and the Goldfields. The name “Yilgarn” is aboriginal for “white stone” or “quartz”. Southern Cross is the major town centre of the Shire of Yilgarn and is […]

Continue reading "Shire of Yilgarn"

Shire of Narembeen

Narembeen is located in the heart of the Wheatbelt, 286km east of Perth. The town has evolved from its traditional rural history and today plays an important role within the Wheatbelt in cereal cropping, cattle and sheep production, agricultural innovation as well as support from industry such as engineering, auto works and tourism. Narembeen is a […]

Continue reading "Shire of Narembeen"

Shire of Kellerberrin

Centrally located in the Wheatbelt, just 202km east of Perth along Great Eastern Highway, Kellerberrin is a warm, charming community, steeped in a vibrant history dating back from its Indigenous people to European pioneers. The Shire includes the localities of Kellerberrin, Doodlakine, Baandee and North Baandee. Celebrating its centenary in 2008, Kellerberrin’s longevity is attributed […]

Continue reading "Shire of Kellerberrin"

Shire of York

The Shire, with the key town sites of York (the Shire’s seat of local government), Gwambygine, Mount Hardey, Greenhills and Kauring had a total resident population of 3,606 in 2016, at which time the male:female ratio was approximately 50:50. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people made up 3.1% of the total population .

Continue reading "Shire of York"